Tags

, , ,

What makes a song touching?

Most probably the lyrics and music, right?

This song below was sad as hell but I felt even sadder when I found out the story behind it. 

It was said to be the love story of Frank Sinatra and his second wife Ava Gardner, an actress. 

It was said that they had a very passionate relationship and that Frank Sinatra actually left his wife of 12 years to be with her. Their marriage only lasted for 6 years. But the marriage to Sinatra was stormy – passionate fighting, jealousy, at least one suicide attempt (by Sinatra), and numerous separations. 

I think he cheated on her on numerous occasions but she was the love of his life. (Yeah, I know, a bit contradicting, right?) Anyway, he paid for her medical fees of $50000 till her death. After her death, one of Frank Sinatra’s daughters found him slumped in his room, crying, and unable to speak. 

Reportedly, a lone black limousine parked behind the crowd of 500 mourners at Ava’s funeral. No one exited the vehicle, but it was assumed that the anonymous mourner was indeed Frank Sinatra. A floral arrangement at Gardner’s graveside simply read: “With My Love, Francis”.

(Most of the things above are from her wikipedia page)

Sad or not, you tell me?!! So dramatic and so unlike Frank Sinatra (from what I watch in youtube- always smiling and joking away) Divorce to be with her, she aborted his child, he committing suicide, cheating… What’s left?

So here is the song:

I’m A Fool To Want You

Lyrics:

I’m a fool to want you
I’m a fool to want you
To want a love that can’t be true
A love that’s there for others too

I’m a fool to hold you
Such a fool to hold you
To seek a kiss not mine alone
To share a kiss the Devil has known

Time and time again I said I’d leave you
Time and time again I went away
But then would come the time when I would need you
And once again these words I’d have to say

I’m a fool to want you
Pity me, I need you
I know it’s wrong, it must be wrong
But right or wrong I can’t get along
Without you

Time and time again I said I’d leave you
Time and time again I went away
But then would come the time when I would need you
And once again these words I’d have to say

Take me back, I love you
Pity me, I need you
I know it’s wrong, it must be wrong
But right or wrong I can’t get along without you… 

Excuse me while I’ll go weep in a corner.